List of Airports in Nigeria

Are you looking for an accurate list of airports in Nigeria? If yes, you are in the right place. This article reveals the full list of all airports in Nigeria.

Nigeria has over 30 airports and 26 of these airports are controlled by the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN). Nigeria has around 27 major airports; which are grouped into domestic and international airports. Apart from the domestic and international airports in Nigeria, there are several airstrips and airfields across the country for civilian & military use.

List of International Airports with location in Nigeria

  • Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos State.
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja.
  • Anambra International  Cargo Airport, Anambra State.
  • Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano State.
  • Port Harcourt International Airport, Port Harcourt, Rivers State.
  • Akanu Ibiam International Airport, Enugu State.
  • Ilorin International Airport, Ilorin, Kwara State.
  • Sadiq Abubakar III International Airport, Sokoto State.
  • Kaduna International Airport, Kaduna State.

List of Major Domestic Airport with location in Nigeria

The domestic airports in Nigeria offer only domestic flights.

  • Asaba International Airport, Delta State.
  • Benin Airport, Edo State.
  • Yakubu Gowon Airport, Plateau State.
  • Sam Mbakwe International Cargo Airport (SMICA), Imo State.
  • Yola Airport, Adamawa State.
  • Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, Bauchi State.
  • Margaret Ekpo International Airport, Cross River State.
  • Warri Airport, Warri, Delta State.
  • Zaria Airport, Kaduna State.
  • Akure Airport, Ondo State.
  • Gombe Lawanti International Airport, Gombe State.
  • Akwa Ibom Airport, Akwa Ibom State.
  • Ibadan Airport, Oyo State.
  • Jalingo Airport, Taraba State.
  • Minna Airport, Niger State.
  • Kebbi International Airport, Kebbi State.
  • Katsina Airport, Katsina State.
  • Makurdi Airport, Benue State.
  • Maiduguri International Airport, Borno State.
  • Dutse International Airport, Jigawa State.
  • Bauchi Airport, Bauchi State.
  • Bayelsa International Airport, Bayelsa State.

What is the Biggest Airport in Nigeria?

Full List of AirPorts in Nigeria

The Lagos State airport popularly known as Murtala Muhammed International Airport is the busiest and largest international airport in Nigeria. It accounts for more than 60% of the flights in the country.

What is the Smallest Airport in Nigeria?

The Warri airport located in Osubi is the smallest airport in Nigeria.

How Many Airports are in Nigeria?

Nigeria has around 32 airports, 26 are controlled by the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN) and 5 are functional international airports.

How Many International Airports are in Nigeria?

Nigeria has over 11 international airports but about five of these airports are fully functional; that is operating up to the standard of handling international flights up to international standard.

List of Airstrips in Nigeria and their location

  • Ajaokuta Airstrip located at Kogi state
  • Azare Airstrip located at Bauchi state
  • Bacita Airstrip located at Kwara state
  • Bajoga Northeast Airstrip located at Gombe state
  • Bida Airstrip  located at Niger state
  • Eket Airstrip located at Akwa Ibom state
  • Escravos Airstrip located at Delta state
  • Gusau Airstrip located at Zamfara state
  • Nguru Airstrip located at Yobe state
  • Potiskum Airstrip located at Yobe state
  • Shiroro Airstrip located at Niger state
  • Tuga Airstrip located at Kebbi state

List of Military Airports in Nigeria with their locations

  • Katsina Air Force Base located at Katsina state
  • Makurdi Air Force Base located at Benue state
  • Port Harcourt NAF Base located at Rivers state
  • Kaduna Air Force Base located at Kaduna state

I hope that this article has helped you with the list of airports in Nigeria. If you are preparing to travel abroad by air or to any part of the country, you will find the right airport to use.